Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Great little place staff friendly great bfast I personally didn't like the coffee they were coffee bags but mentioned this and was given a coffee pot with bfast, lovely cake for guests left in the snug everyday,

Reviewer:Carol H | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


A wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Ruth and crew were friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. The guest house is charming.I’ve already told friends to stay here if they are going to York.

Reviewer:Sandra J | Thu 11th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

I am really happy I booked a room at this guesthouse.Excellent location,nice staff and beautiful decorations inside with old furnitures and beams etc.Free parking is a bonus.Definitely book again.

Reviewer:Lilianna P | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Location is as close to centre as you could wish.We were met with a smile and shown to our room which was perfect for our short stay. A lovely and appreciated touch was the tea/coffee and cake in the snug after a day feet, just like being back in the alps for afternoon tea after skiing.The parking was a bonus as was the breakfast (free if booked via Minster Walk website) we will be back next time in York.

Reviewer:Graham D | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Cosy base to explore York - Rating 5/5

Great wee place ideally placed to explore all of Yorks attractions.As a family with two octageneraians and a teenager we were perfectly catered for.Friendly, comfy, fantastic breakfast and 5 minutes walk from the Minster.Have already recommended to friends.

Reviewer:Helen T | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Welcoming and comfortable- Rating 5/5

We Stayed for two nights in this lovely establishment and we will certainly stay here again.The room was very pleasant, clean and bright. The bed was HUGE and one of the best I have slept in while in hotels or guest houses.The large tv was a surprise as was the choice of drinks available in the room, more than your usual 4 teabags and 4 coffee sachets and the free parking was appreciatedTracey the chef was lovely, very friendly and cooks a mean breakfast using top quality produce, no cheap sausage or water filled bacon here.The addition of a comfortable snug room offering free tea, coffee and home made cake was a lovely added bonus and It’s only a short 5 minute walk from the city centre with all its shops restaurants and barsThe only bad thing, Windows could do with a blackout blind as the sun shining early morning meant I was awake at 5:30am because the curtains let the light inThe proprietors of this guest house seem to care about their guests comfort and have gone the extra mile to ensure it

Reviewer:Julie s | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Minster Walk Guest House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, comfortable, really friendly helpful staff who took genuine pleasure and pride in ensuring guests were comfortable and welcomed. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Susan S | Fri 29th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


A great place to stay- Rating 5/5

We went for a short break to York and stayed at this lovely guest house,the room we stayed in no6 was clean newly refurbished with a comfy double bed and large TV, and a separate room with single bed and seating area with and small TV,and a nice bathroom and shower, had everything we needed and ideally located with parking spaces, would definitely stay here again if we visit the wonderful city of York

Reviewer:Raymond N | Thu 28th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

The staff at the guest house was very attentive and helpful. The rooms were lovely, also superb location to explore the attractions nearby.

Reviewer:Edward S | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Amazing Stay in York.- Rating 5/5

This was my first time visiting York and i cannot wait to plan my next visit already. Our host Ruth was fantastic;welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. She gave us a tour of the beautiful guest house and then directed us to our room which was immaculate and full of additional items which made our stay even more special.One we had settled in, she showed us a map and highlighted great places to eat/drink and visit and told us about all the best places to visit in York. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and it was obvious that the produce was locally sourced as it was totally delicious! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - top place, top location and top host!! Thanks :) xx

Reviewer:Sophie F | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Birthday stay with daughters- Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in a fabulous two bedroom room with my twin daughters. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were so comfy and the master bed was massive. The breakfast was lovely and the lady cooking and serving it was realy friendly. I would stay her again if visiting York, only a very short walk to the Minster and the town.

Reviewer:Lynn P | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


One night stay with daughters - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in a fabulous room with a massive bed and separate twin room. My daughters and i couldn't fault it,and the breakfast was fantastic. They lady who cooked it was lovely and friendly and we would definitely stay again if we were going York again. Thanks Minster Walk for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Lynn P | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


Our best stay in York so far- Rating 5/5

Lovely setting . Very clean and tidy . Nice comfortable bed . Very helpful staff and owners. Breakfast was very nice . Highly recommended and would love to go back for another stay .

Reviewer:Adrian D | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Minster Walk Guest House - Fantastic Location - Rating 4/5

Stopped here just the one night, great central location , everything within easy walking distance. Handy having a pub right next door that serves great Tapas and Pizzas. Lovely quiet location. Very helpful owners / staff. Happy to recommend.

Reviewer:Adrian R | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Extremely satisfied- Rating 5/5

Quite easily the nicest guesthouse/hotel we’ve ever stayed in, had the standard double room which was more than large enough, lovely array of hot drink making supplies and loved the complimentary toiletries in the en-suite roomy bathroom.The chocolates on the towels and full-sized bath sheets were a wonderful special touch but best of all was the snug with lovely cake on offer!Well situated in the centre of town, free provision of parking and delicious, generous breakfast.Extremely friendly and welcoming, we will never stay elsewhere when we return to York!Thank you!

Reviewer:Nicky F | Sun 17th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely nights stay - Rating 5/5

My partner and I stayed at the Minister Walk Guest House for one night. The hotel was lovely, great location and amazing features. The hotel itself was clean and well presented. The complimentary cake in the lounge was very yummy!

Reviewer:Claire S | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely room with views of the Minster - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable room with very nice breakfast. Close to the centre and very clean. Good value for money, will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Lynn B | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely clean guest house, perfect location - Rating 4/5

Lovely little guest house, perfectly located to get in and out of the town centre within minutes. Lovely little touches like the lounge, shampoo and conditioner in the room. Very clean and comfortable, will def be returning

Reviewer:julie k | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Delightful - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Minster Walk. It was a last minute booking for us and we were very pleased to find such a charming place. It has an excellent location and is convenient for exploring the city on foot fortified by a well cooked breakfast. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful and supply a personal touch missing from the corporate hotels. The provision of cake and coffee is welcome. The room at the "top of the shop"was comfortable and well appointed.( I would advise some hooks on the back of the bathroom door though and a bedside lamp would be good)I look forward to another stay in the future.

Reviewer:Joyce c | Sun 10th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent, as ever - Rating 5/5

A convenient location, a warm welcome, a comfortable room, a good night's sleep, a hearty breakfast, and delicious cake. Can't be faulted.

Reviewer:Thomas A | Fri 8th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Very nice guest house,centrally locatedEvan had 2 four posters in the roomPlenty of tea and coffee and cake in the loungeGood breakfast in the morningWould highly recommended it

Reviewer:Steven S | Fri 8th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Great as always - Rating 5/5

This was our fourth stay at minster walk and as usual had a fab stay. Lovely room with king size bed large powerful shower and a view of the minster. Superb location within easy reach of the city centre. Car parking is free with an allotted space. Free coffee and cake in the lounge and a quality breakfast. Can’t wait to return.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs F | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Buisness trip - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay room was comfotableBfast was ample little snug to telax and eat cake was a delightAnd Tracy the chef was a pleasureto meet . Cant wait to come back

Reviewer:Tracy S | Thu 31st Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Smart and friendly- Rating 5/5

The current owners have had the place for about a year and have put a lot of effort making Minster Wallk a beautifully appointed Guest House with a boutique feel.I had to visit York at short notice and booked direct, having read a few reviews of this and a few other nearby hotels.I got a personal email reply from Ruth, one of the owners, with all the information I could need - the personal touch was done well throughout.This was part of a friendly feel, which can only really be achieved in a small establishment.Lovely room and lovely breakfast - latter free to direct bookers.I would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Peter L | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Little Gem in York - Rating 5/5

Lovely greeting, warm and comfortable room, brilliant location, easy walk from the station, splendid cake, friendly hosts, super breakfast, did I mention the cake?

Reviewer:chris j | Sat 19th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

The room was clean, perfect size, and I appreciated having a desk since I had studying to do. The location is an easy walk to the train station and to the City Centre.

Reviewer:Savannah P | Tue 8th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

No complaints at all from this first stay at Minster Walk. Very well organised place. Room was spotless and the interior design was modern, but in keeping with the style of the property. Owners, Rob and Lisa, were extremely friendly and helpful. Due to working overseas, I have travelled extensively across the Middle East and SE Asia. I’ve stayed in some nice places over the years but it’s not often that you stay in a place that has got everything right. Rob and Lisa seem to have done that.I complaints from me at all. I will visit again.

Reviewer:Ian B | Tue 1st Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Such a cosy place - Rating 5/5

To arrive with mulled wine, Mince pies,tea coffee or cake to choose from was THE most welcome b&b treat i have ever experienced. Thank you.

Reviewer:Caroline C | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


festive christmas stay at minster walk - Rating 5/5

Another welcoming and very comfortable stay for the second year in a row, my sister and I always visit York together for a pre-Christmas treat and last minute shopping, last year being the first that we decided to stay overnight and discovered Minster walk. Beautiful clean and comfortable rooms with a very welcome coffee and cake lounge, a lovely surprise to find sherry and mince pies in our room. great location close to the abbey gardens and York minster, waking up to the sound of the abbey bells and a delicious breakfast ! Will most definitely be booking for 2019 !

Reviewer:Rachel R | Thu 27th Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Karen S | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


Visiting York? Want Accomodation? Book Here! - Rating 5/5

We are a middle/late aged couple with a daughter aged 20. Wanting to be centrally located but still quiet, we booked the family room 6 for one night wanting to take in the sights and do some Christmas Shopping. This place fitted the bill,its very clean, comfortable and with friendly staff. The beds were comfortable and spotless. The extras inclusive of a welcome drink of sherry and mince pie left in the room added a little extra plus help yourself to cake and a drink downstairs. The pre ordered breakfast was good but as a personal choice we would have liked some fruit and natural yoghurt as well. However, there were tubs of fruited yoghurt. The entrance door was by a secure keypad but the number was not put on our welcome letter so we got locked out and had to ring to get the keypad number. Perhaps this could be included in future within their welcome letter pro forma template? Overall an extremely impressive thumbs up and recommendation to all.

Reviewer:Nev R | Wed 19th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Minster walk review - Rating 5/5

We liked our room very much it was very clean and had everything we required .breakfast was goodwith a friendly atmosphere.

Reviewer:Ann M | Sat 15th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Simply fabulous! - Rating 5/5

What a find.A quirky little guesthouse in an amazing location a stone’s throw from the city centre and Minster.Individual service and extra ltouches just added to the experience.Will definitely be returning!

Reviewer:Lee S | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Super stay at minster walk guest house - Rating 5/5

What can I say , from the first enquirey to checking out we were met with politeness and all our wishes were met.lovely staff and the room was very comfortable along with the added mince pies and sherry.great breakfasts, ideally located for minster and shops , we will certainly be back .

Reviewer:Ian B | Thu 6th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Best Guest House - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic. Wonderful room with lovely welcome touches. Lovely staff , was made so welcome and everything was thought about . Just wish we stayed more than one night .

Reviewer:Tracy T | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay as always - Rating 5/5

This is the 4th time we have stayed here (formally The Coach House Hotel) and thoroughly enjoyed it, lovely rooms and very plesant staff, being a short walk to the centre of York it's an ideal place to stay, would recommend to anyone,

Reviewer:Gina C | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


High quality Guest House.- Rating 4/5

Friendly and well run Guest House house in ideal location in York. A pleasant lounge (home baked cake and fresh milk available) on the ground floor and idiosyncratic bedrooms all with good quality duvets, towels and toiletries. A reliable rest station.

Reviewer:Anthony F | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Absolutely fantastic- Rating 5/5

I was looking for a little last minute getaway in York, when I stumbled across this guest house online. The pictures caught my eye so I had a browse and I was very impressed. Every review is a positive and I can see why.The accommodation is beautiful and definitely what we both needed, i love how the rooms have been designed especially the downstairs one. It’s full of tea, coffee, water and homemade cakes for you to indulge in. It’s so peaceful and relaxing, the perfect break from everyday life. The breakfast was delicious and we had a good natter with the lady who is the chef. We stayed in a double room on this occasion and it was perfect, we are hoping to return again in the next 3 weeks, but this time will be requesting to try out the other king size rooms as we’ve heard these are beautiful too. Highly recommend, you’ll have a great stay here. Can’t wait to visit again.Michael &Ashley

Reviewer:Michael O | Wed 14th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to Stay . Certainly the nicest room I’ve ever booked and will definitely book again

Reviewer:Mark B | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Minster Walk - Rating 4/5

High quality, comfortable Guest House in excellent location (close to the centre but a quiet street).

Reviewer:Anthony F | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


A little Gem right in the city centre - Rating 5/5

Warm friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms with comfy beds and excellent facilities.The coffee and cake lounge is a very nice touch and we enjoyed sampling the homemade cake after a day out exploring the city.We booked the standard double room as a last minute break and were delighted to be given a free upgrade to a super king room!Breakfast was basic but adequate and tasty!We booked through booking.com so breakfast was extra but if you book direct with the guesthouse it comes included in the price so it is acceptable that it’s basic.We feel our stay was a bargain.A lovely place to stay and only a 5 minute walk to York Minster.We were in room 2 and had a view of it from the window.Would definitely stay here again next time we visit York and would not hesitate to recommend it!!

Reviewer:Sandra H | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect location- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at minster walk guest house, rooms are excellent clean warm and cosy, the location is just perfect step out of the door and your there !!Will definitely be staying there again !

Reviewer:Brian K | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

This was a gift from work colleagues. Perfect location for a stay in York. Friendly staff, beautiful big rooms that are well done out. Cracking views of the minster. Lovely breakfast that would satisfy any morning needs. What more would you want. We will defo be back.

Reviewer:B | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


4.9
Very Good

43 reviews

5
88%
4
12%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%